Paintings

To choose just one painting would be too hard as there are so many beautiful paintings done by so many artists. So I want to show you three of my favorites, Vincent van Gogh’s “Sunflowers” 1888,  Elizabeth Louise Vigee Le Brun’s “Mademoiselle Brongniart” 1788, and Camille Pissarro “The Cote des Boeufs at L’Hermitage” 1877.

Vincent van Gogh has many paintings and one would have a hard time choosing which one of his they might like best; however, I felt that this painting showed a sense of light.  What I mean by that, is it gives a summer time feeling where guests might gather drinking sun tea and enjoying conversation.

What I found fascinating about the “Mademoiselle Brongniart”painting was not only did this show a delicate and pristine replication of a child it was painted by a woman.  During this period of time, it was almost unheard of for a woman to be such an accomplished painter.

The last painting by Camille Pissarro was just a beautiful depiction of a wooded hillside.  This painting helped to bring me back to a simpler time, where time moved more slowly.  It felt peaceful and yet full of life.


Leave a comment